Skip to content

Wild Weekend break up

March 30, 2009 - 1:37 am

l_80bb6c39d5f54397b2f0c8d2629016511

Rumors that local punk quartet Wild Weekend have broken up were confirmed by singer/guitarist Maren Parusel on Sunday afternoon.

“It was great, but I feel the last months I’ve changed musically,” she said. “I just didn’t feel like when I was on stage and I was playing Wild Weekend songs, I just didn’t feel 100 percent anymore. I just felt like it wasn’t fair to do something half-hearted. I have to feel it.”

While Parusel said that it was her decision to end Wild Weekend and that the rest of the group was surprised, they will remain close.

“There’s nothing bad between us,” she said. “We’re all still friends and everything. I’m very proud of it.”

In an e-mail, Wild Weekend guitarist/singer Kelly Alvarez had this to say:

“This came as a big surprise to all of us. I’m heartbroken, but I’ve dusted myself off and I’m not going to quit doing what I love to do. There’s no story or ‘big scoop.’ We didn’t even have a record out. We had fun playing some cool shows and meeting cool new people. Maren quit to focus on her solo project. Cara, Cody and I will be starting our own band and I want to work on some solo stuff and put out my own 7inch. That’s all there is to say.”

The band started out as a Zeros cover band, but were soon playing original songs and quickly became popular on the scene for their spirited live shows and catchy pop-punk sound.

One Comment leave one →
  1. cat dirt permalink
    March 30, 2009 - 8:32 am 8:32 am

    Does this mean kelly will finlly perform solo? I hope so.

Leave a Reply

