Skip to content

Reader writer’s off his rocker

April 20, 2009 - 12:33 pm

What are you doing hanging around here when all the fun’s happening here?

A snippet: “I personally think cops should be allowed to shoot you in the back if you run from them.”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2009 - 2:11 pm 2:11 pm

    I think Josh Board is mentally ill. Or perhaps he’s just mental. Here’s his latest bit of logic aimed at me (and my *son*). Ahem:

    “Well, to respond to canon [that would be yours truly] first…I enjoyed your column on the Octomom. I enjoy most of your columns, as I told you. But like the Octomom, you are exploiting your kid by putting pictures of him on your website. Why do that? What’s the point of it?

    And, when someone attacks me personally, or my boss, I’ll respond any damn way I want, no matter what it sounds like. You’ve gone on and on about me learning how to write and taking classes. So, I’ll tell you to take some parenting classes. Because, you’re probably going to raise your kid to fear the police, or disobey them. And in the long run, it could cause some serious harm for him to grow up thinking “the man” is out to get him. And that’s truely what is sad. Not some comments that I may have said to get under your skin in a personal email.

    I love the fact that people adopt children. Why would I be against that? I just adopted a dog from the shelter. It’s great giving kids (or animals) a nice home.”

  2. Jon M Gallagher permalink
    April 21, 2009 - 5:06 pm 5:06 pm

    Wow, that’s not the Reader I grew up on.

    I grew up in a San Diego where the policeman’s union (that was the general term) bought billboards reading (paraphrasing from memory) “Welcome to San Diego. Home of 1,100 underpaid police.” We had cop friends and neighbors, and knew not to pull any kind of crap in the city or we would get a solid beating in place of due process.

    Good Luck with the flame war. I’m fairly positive you won’t get any traction on Josh, but it was good to see the research you’ve done on the case. Maybe if Josh put in the areas studying facts rather than dwelling on annoying rhetoric he might have something valuable to contrubute.

  3. Jon M Gallagher permalink
    April 21, 2009 - 5:08 pm 5:08 pm

    Hey, that billboard was cited in a Supreme Court case! (I love me some Google!):
    453 U.S. 490 – Metromedia, Inc. v. City of San Diego
    http://www.law.cornell.edu/supct/html/historics/USSC_CR_0453_0490_ZC.html

    [search for “underpaid”]

Leave a Reply

