Skip to content

San Diego Shows–Monday, June 1

June 1, 2009 - 3:37 pm

eminem-bruno_l

PLAN A: Stay home and watch Eminem get teabagged over and over again.

But seriously, Mondays are always a dead zone when it comes to shows, but I can’t honestly recommend anything tonight whole-heartedly. Heavy Glow at The Casbah? They’re a little too earnestly cock-rockish (and without the irony) for my tastes. Lady Dottie at U-31? Yeah, they’re thoroughly entertaining but I just can’t keep recommending them anytime I’m desperate. The China Clippers at the Ruby Room? Not one of my local favorites, plus they play there every first Monday of the month. “Dub Dynamite” at The Office? Always a good time but, again, tired of recommending it all the time. Stay home tonight. Call your grandmother. Create some art. Smoke some dope and listen to Asia’s Astra for all I care.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2009 - 8:24 pm 8:24 pm

    Zen koan: what is an events column that does not recommend events?

  2. Seth Combs permalink
    June 1, 2009 - 8:44 pm 8:44 pm

    A pretty crappy one I guess.

  3. Sophia Gagliardi permalink
    June 2, 2009 - 2:14 pm 2:14 pm

    Seth have you ever heard Heavy Glow? “Earnestly cockrockish” is not only pejorative, it’s bad journalism. Do words mean anything to you or did you just have to take the opposite stance as the SD Reader to keep the column “hip?”

  4. Seth Combs permalink
    June 2, 2009 - 2:59 pm 2:59 pm

    As insulting and pejorative as it may be, it’s not “bad journalism” is I’m just stating my opinion. Bad journalism would be if I said that “hundreds of people think that Heavy Glow’s music is in the same vein as other shitacular bands like Creed,” but then didn’t back that fact up with any evidence or figures. That’s why the link to their MySpace is up here, so people can judge for themselves whether or not they sound like Jet shitting on Alice in Chains’ face.

  5. June 3, 2009 - 6:06 am 6:06 am

    My two cents.
    As a musician, or maybe it’s just my crappy nature, I constantly make snap judgments on music, musicians, genres, etc.. I’m aware that as I judge others, both my band and I will be judged. Though I don’t know if Seth has ever seen one of our shows (I would assume probably not), he did what all of us do everyday, formed a opinion about something. The only difference in his case is that it’s a very public opinion.
    When I think of “cock rock”, I think of 80’s metal cover bands and not our blues inspired Cream/ Black Keys style but that’s MY opinion. I value Seth’s opinion and hope he has seen or will see one of our shows. He could have written about countless other crappy bands playing that night but he chose ours. Truth be told I have no problem being labeled “cock rock”… shit, it’s better than “prog rock”!!

  6. moonshinedarling permalink
    June 3, 2009 - 10:18 am 10:18 am

    Well said. Even a bad review gives exposure. What bands want more than anything is for people to listen to their music. If I read an especially brutal review I have to check out the band in question to see if I agree. Although, this is not a brutal review. Seth says, “for my tastes.” And, though reluctantly, he recommends them by mentioning them…just not “whole-heartedly.” The meaning is in the wording, people.

Leave a Reply

