Skip to content

‘Hacksaw’ Hamilton’s sexist remark on KPBS

June 15, 2009 - 12:26 pm

This morning on KPBS’ These Days radio show, guest host Doug Myrland was questioning Lee “Hacksaw” Hamilton about the amateur baseball draft and the Padres when Hamilton said one of the most sexist things I’ve heard in a long time outside of drunken bar chatter. Hamilton was talking about how the Arizona Diamondbacks not long ago got themselves deep in debt by structuring player contracts with deferred payments, and, unless I heard it wrong, he said that was analogous to giving one’s wife a credit card (I don’t have the exact quote because I was driving when I heard it, and KPBS doesn’t yet have the audio up on its website).

What is this, the 1970s?

I wanted Myrland to note that men, too, run up credit-card debt, and I wondered if regular host Maureen Cavanaugh would have remarked on it had she been doing the interview.

Interestingly, I found this in a 2007 story in Money magazine:

When it comes to debt management, it seems women have the edge over men. Separate studies by credit reference agencies Veda Advantage (formerly Baycorp Advantage) and Dun & Bradstreet (D&B) have found men are more likely to default (miss repayments) on their loans than women.

The Veda study looked at credit defaults between June 2002 and mid-2007, finding six out of 10 defaults were made by men. On almost every score, men outranked women, accounting for 62 percent of personal loan defaults, 62 percent of defaults on overdrafts and 56 percent of mortgage defaults.

Update: KPBS has posted the audio, and I heard it right. Hamilton said the Diamondbacks’ deferred contracts: “That’s a very bad way of doing business. It’s like the wife and the credit card.”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Doug Myrland permalink
    June 15, 2009 - 1:58 pm 1:58 pm

    Dave–You’re right, I should not have let that pass. In the moment, I couldn’t think of a graceful way to challenge the analogy–so I let it go. In retrospect, I’d do it differently–but the show is live, so we get two mistakes–his, and mine. Doug Myrland

  2. David Rolland permalink*
    June 15, 2009 - 2:25 pm 2:25 pm

    Doug, having done a fair amount of radio, I completely understand wishing for a second chance to say something. When I said I would have liked you to counter the remark, I meant that as a perfect-world kind of thing. I wasn’t intending to criticize you — only Hacksaw. Cheers.

  3. Nigel permalink
    June 15, 2009 - 4:14 pm 4:14 pm

    What’s wrong with being sexy?

Leave a Reply

