Skip to content

Frye’s response to Coastal Commission appointment

August 21, 2009 - 1:25 pm

I left a phone message with San Diego City Councilmember Donna Frye, seeking her reaction to the news that state Assembly Speaker Karen Bass had appointed Oceanside City Councilmember Esther Sanchez. Frye wanted the seat and was supported by a coalition of local environmentalists.

In response to my message, Frye e-mailed the following:

I congratulate Ester [sic] and appreciate the Speaker’s consideration of my nomination. I am also appreciative of the support of my nomination by the environmental community and County Supervisor Pam Slater-Price.

Last week, in an informal conversation, an environmental activist told me that Sanchez was expected to get the nod as a sort of middle-ground pick between the often uncompromising Frye and the increasingly establishment-centric San Diego City Councilmember Ben Hueso, who had the seat until being termed out and who wanted it back as he campaigns for a seat in the state Assembly.

In a recent editorial, CityBeat urged Bass to appoint Frye.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. K. Paul Huddleston permalink
    August 21, 2009 - 4:09 pm 4:09 pm

    Poor David Rolland. He means so well, but sometimes things just get a little too complicated for him. He recited everything he was to say about Esther Sanchez being appointed because she is a happy medium between Hueso and Frye. The only problem is he didn’t mention one crucial point. Frye is termed out. She will be off the council in a year and half. She would also have to leave the Coastal Commission as well.
    Life is so much easier when it was David Rolland vs. Bob Kittle. Rolland looked so progressive next to bow-tied twit. But now what? When Roland has to grasp anything that’s a little complex, he probably won’t get it since he only spits out what is fed to him.

  2. David Rolland permalink*
    August 21, 2009 - 4:24 pm 4:24 pm

    Hey, K. Paul, thanks for helping get my simple mind around that very complex concept. My brain gets so tired with such heavy lifting. I am aware that she is in her last term. I simply passed along what someone said to me in a short, informal blog post. I’m not 100 percent on this, but I believe she would be able to continue to serve on the commission if she were elected to the county Board of Supervisors. Don’t know, though; I may just be spitting out what someone once fed me.

    • K. Paul Huddleston permalink
      August 21, 2009 - 5:42 pm 5:42 pm

      Hey David, I hate to tell you this, but her election (should she even run) to the county board is not a sure bet. Hence her appointment would maybe not be so prudent for Speaker Bass. God I miss the days when you were my progressive knight in shining armor, showing that silly little fop Bob Kittle what for! God I loved hearing you tell those stories about how you bravely stood up to him and all!! We’ll have to find you a new colorful blowhard to get snippy with.

      • David Rolland permalink*
        August 21, 2009 - 6:12 pm 6:12 pm

        Not sure what I did to prompt such a reaction. I merely said that an activist I spoke to said Sanchez was thought to be a compromise candidate. Why all the sarcasm and bad-mouthing? What’s got you in such a bunch? If you think Bass would never consider Frye or Hueso because they’re short-timers, why not just say that? Why do people have to get all insulty? I can certainly take it; it just makes me scratch my head. Of course, I am quite the dumbshit, so the obvious reason is probably just over my head.

        Oh, and I don’t think I ever said her election was a sure bet.

        Oh, and I never “stood up” to Kittle, and I never said I did. I have, however, praised KPBS for standing up to him. Is that what you think you’re talking about, Mr. Sarcasty Pants?

  3. K. Paul Huddleston permalink
    August 21, 2009 - 7:05 pm 7:05 pm

    Gee, I don’t know. Seems to me you posted something about Kittle’s “tantrum” recently? And didn’t you just write an editorial about him. Hmmmmm…. Let’s face it, you need Kittle as much he needed his little easily attackable targets. Excuse me: ‘I never said here election was sure bet.’ Then why did you say it was all about Sanchez being a happy medium. Weak.

  4. K. Paul Huddleston permalink
    August 22, 2009 - 9:23 pm 9:23 pm

    all I’m saying is that you mean well, and you are generally on the right side of issues (of course Donna should have been on the coastal commission). But you just don’t have any insider juice, and you just don’t (can’t?) grasp the big picture sometimes as is witnessed by this Sanchez appointment.

    Your Kitttle confrontation was your one career highlight and now he’s gone. All I can say is I hope SD Citybeat doesn’t fold like the L.A. Citybeat did three months ago.

    • David Rolland permalink*
      August 23, 2009 - 11:27 am 11:27 am

      I’m flattered that you follow my career so closely, but I actually don’t consider Bob’s boycott of a KPBS radio show a career highlight. To me, it was more an amusement that served as great marketing for CityBeat (as well as an open window into Bob’s thinking).

  5. Mandy permalink
    August 24, 2009 - 11:52 am 11:52 am

    Esther will be a wonderful choice for the Coastal Commission. She has a degree in urban planning and also understands the pressures on the coastal resources, having been born and raised there. Can’t you say something nice, Donna? Her lukewarm compliment to Sanchez sounded more like sour grapes.

Leave a Reply

