Skip to content

Beth Green is back!

January 12, 2010 - 3:50 pm

Living With Reality logo

Undeterred by by CityBeat‘s critical reporting, The Steam’s New-Age leader Beth Green is back with a new column at SDNN. This time, she’s challenging pharmaceutical culture:

Change is slow also because patterns in us are usually similar to patterns in others, and without collective support, our individual change is more difficult. In a society permissive of prescription mood-altering drugs, for example, it is hard to resist. With “everybody doing it,” our dependence is not even noticed until we become hopelessly addicted and/or have damaged our health. To stand up to our own drug dependency requires that we confront not only our own addiction, but our sense of belonging in a culture saturated with addictive medications.

Also, I recommend you read the most recent comment by one of Green’s followers defending the organization’s state accreditation to provide continuing education courses to nurses using its “Living With Reality” system. An excerpt from the comment:

LWR can help the nurse to feel relaxed and connected as she uses the principles of this program to support the family members to face reality in the most relaxed way possible; to face the illness, possibly impending death, and to do so in a way that helps everyone stay connected, and, therefore, avoid the unnecessary pain and stress of disconnection. If the nurse can learn how to stay connected during painful times and teach this to the patient and their family members, she is not only making life easier and less painful for the patient, but also for the family members, thus protecting their health and functioning, as well.

Incidentally, “connected” in the context of the Living With Reality program means connecting to God, or in their lexicon “The Source,” through higher vibrational energies that Green says science will one day prove exist.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Helen Hillix-Di Santo permalink
    January 13, 2010 - 4:23 pm 4:23 pm

    Just a point of clarification, Dave. Your statement is inaccurate. When describing “connecting” in the Living with Reality program, the program is teaching us to connect to “ourselves, each other and life itself”. This does not exclude connecting to a Higher Power, but belief in a Higher Power is not mandatory to benefiting from the LWR principles and program.

  2. Chris Reese permalink
    January 14, 2010 - 7:23 am 7:23 am

    Dave,

    I’d like to correct an inaccuracy in your blog: I am the President of The Stream’s Board of Directors and I take a low dosage of an anti-depressant as prescribed by an MD and Beth has never rendered an opinion on whether I should or should not take the medicine. While recovering from severe post partum, well-meaning doctors prescribed meds for sleep problems, depression and anxiety. At one point, I was on 5 prescriptions. This experience is one of the many in our culture who have been through exactly what Beth is referring to – it is easy to get medication that is mood altering and a person has be vigilant to not get hooked. Being on all of these drugs, I was in a fog and thank goodness in my life there is support to get clear. Beth helped me to take responsibility myself for monitoring how I feel and am functioning on the meds, and then talk to my doctors. Am I addicted? – good question. Here the indicators that I am not: I don’t crave it, I have tried to go off it and found that I am not functional, I would gladly go off it, this is all discussed with my doctor, I take the lowest dose possible, and don’t take more than prescribed. It feels very sober to me. The Stream’s Living With Reality book, which is free online at http://www.thestream.org, has very supportive information for people dealing with any addictions. For those in the readership that do need support please check out our book to see if it helps you.
    Chris Reese

    • January 14, 2010 - 7:59 am 7:59 am

      Chris: I don’t think there was an inaccuracy. Her statement clearly “challenges” how pervasive psychiastric medications have become in our culture. I merely say she challenges it and I let her words say the rest.

      Helen: From what my conversations with Beth Green and a review of the literature, this seems not to be case. The connection to each other is inherently part of the greater belief in the “oneness,” which correlates to The Source.

  3. January 15, 2010 - 10:59 pm 10:59 pm

    I’d like to know if there is any comment from State authorities on how they came to accredit these courses from The Source.

    Can any bozo with a belief system really get the sanction of the state to supply superstition to the sick?

    If folks want to chant and channel Jesus, well whatever…

    But when the State of California gives its blessing to this stuff…I’d like to know why.

Leave a Reply

