Skip to content

I’m reluctantly lovin’ it.

January 12, 2010 - 1:12 pm

I’m not exactly how proud we should be of this development: McDonalds USA has just announced that a former San Diegan has been promoted to president and chief operating officer.

His name’s Don Thompson. He’s African-American (which is good for increasing the abysmally white-dominated corporate class) and a former San Diego regional manager (which is great for raising San Diego’s profile a career launchpad). In other words, he’s a role model.

On the other hand, we’re talking about McDonalds, and, frankly, I may be the only one on staff here who has no moral opposition to the Big Mac.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. mr. mike permalink
    January 14, 2010 - 12:18 am 12:18 am

    Maass you should be against Mickey D’s, if not for how fattening the food is, then at least for the mounds of garbage the chain creates (but then that could be said about all of the fast food companies.) However, at least the company (as far as I know) isn’t supporting far-right wingnuttery like Domino’s and Carl’s Jr.

    • January 14, 2010 - 7:23 am 7:23 am

      I’d argue those element oughta be challenged, but that, as an American institution, McDonalds has an undeniable cultural value.

      And, I know everyone’s tastes are different, but I loooooove a Big Mac #1 deal. Orange drink and side of sweet and sour sauce for the fries. It’s one of my favorite meals. Is there something wrong with that?

  2. January 15, 2010 - 8:04 am 8:04 am

    In the early ’90s, the first McDonalds opened in Prague.

    It was great! Polite efficient staff, clean bathrooms, predictable food, reasonable prices.

    And compared to traditional Czech food…a BigMac is practically vegetarian.

    I’ve worked in Korea, Sweden, the Czech Republic, Thailand…well, just about everywhere. When you travel around the world, you inevitably get various parasites, nasty food surprises, over-charges, and bathrooms that defy the imagination.

    I really appreciate being able to go to a McDonald’s and know exactly what’s coming. Afterwards, I can go to a bathroom that will always be clean, have toilet paper, and won’t make me want to vomit up the meal I just ate.

    Naturally, 99% of the time I’m eating the local food. I’m adventurous.

    But when I meet fellow Americans who turn their noses up at McDonald’s, I’m just waiting for them to get their first stomach bug. Then they’ll be grateful to find at least one meal that they can trust, no matter where they might be in the world.

    Full disclosure: I ate a BigMac last night. It was delicious.

Leave a Reply

