Skip to content

New comment policy

February 9, 2010 - 2:05 pm
tags:

Hello Readers:

We’ve decided to change the comment policy here at Last Blog on Earth. Now, in order to discuss the stories, you’ll need to register with WordPress and log in. You’ll still be able to create a handle, so don’t worry. This will simply discourage some of the anonymous posts that muddy discussion.

We’ll just try it out and see how it works. Feel free to discuss the policy below.  Just register first.

Or email me: davem@sdcitybeat.com

28 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2010 - 2:39 pm 2:39 pm

    ’bout time 🙂

    I guess this means a few of the regulars probably won’t be back anymore?

  2. February 9, 2010 - 2:46 pm 2:46 pm

    Nah, several of them have no problem revealing their identities and registering for an account.

    • February 9, 2010 - 2:55 pm 2:55 pm

      I was thinking of one in particular–maybe two. But you’re right, the rest of them are responsible commenters who I don’t see having any problem standing behind their words.

  3. February 9, 2010 - 3:56 pm 3:56 pm

    Can’t people just register for an account using a fake name? I’d assume this will make it easier for you to ban people, but what stops them from creating another account?

    What information other than name (and website if users choose to post it) of registered users does WordPress.com share with Citybeat?

    • February 9, 2010 - 4:06 pm 4:06 pm

      True. But they’ll have to use a working email address.

      • February 9, 2010 - 4:17 pm 4:17 pm

        What is the goal of this? Why not just turn on comment moderation?

        • February 9, 2010 - 4:29 pm 4:29 pm

          Personally, I don’t want to moderate. It takes up too much time and I’m not keen on censoring comments.

          • February 9, 2010 - 4:44 pm 4:44 pm

            What good is requiring users to register then? At some point isn’t this about censoring comments? I understand you don’t want to moderate, but I don’t see what requiring registration with WordPress.com solves.

            As far as I can tell WordPress.com doesn’t have a very precise system for banning commenters. If you want to ban a troll you have the choice of filtering based on: content, name, URL, e-mail, or IP, and sending any matching comments to either moderation or the spam category. But it isn’t specific, and it also matches inside words.
            So if a troll registered the user name “diego1234” and you wanted to blacklist that person all comments that have “diego” in the content will be blacklisted also.

            It seems to me like you’re putting your readers through an extra step, requiring them to register with a third party, for no real gain.

          • February 9, 2010 - 4:51 pm 4:51 pm

            Perhaps. We’ll see how it goes. There are those among us who wouldn’t mind shutting down comments altogether. My hope, and we’ll see how this works, is to discourage anonymous posters. Sure, they can still use a fake name, but then they’ll have to go the extra step after that and set up a fake email account as well.

            I mean, if it sucks, it sucks. We’ll see. It didn’t seem to hurt Voice none, despite what the Reader’s lying columnist said.

          • February 9, 2010 - 4:55 pm 4:55 pm

            Don’t get me wrong. I generally prefer open commenting, but shit’s getting out of hand.

  4. Seth Combs permalink
    February 9, 2010 - 4:08 pm 4:08 pm

    For the record, I do not agree with this policy change. Boo.

  5. February 9, 2010 - 7:15 pm 7:15 pm

    This is silly. Either leave open the comments or stop them altogether. Personally, sites with comments enabled interest me far more than those without.

    • February 9, 2010 - 8:58 pm 8:58 pm

      Comments are open. Now, it’s not as easy for you (or anyone else) to say things without giving us a clue as to who you really are. Where is the bad?

  6. February 9, 2010 - 8:59 pm 8:59 pm

    Jeff–

    Who said this has anything to do with censoring comments? If there’s something you need to say, absolutely, but can’t put your name behind it — well, maybe there are better forums?

    Otherwise, if you’re afraid to put your name behind what you’re saying, you’re probably just being a troll. Otherwise, what makes you think that requiring registration will lead to censoring?

    • February 9, 2010 - 11:58 pm 11:58 pm

      Agreed. To me, this is a way to avoid censoring. The other option would be moderation and filtering is a form of censorship.

      I’m not convinced doing this will work either way, but it’s worth a shot.

  7. strelnikov2 permalink
    February 9, 2010 - 11:36 pm 11:36 pm

    Herr Maass,

    Even though you want everybody to give their “real name” I stuck with my nom du snark (though I had to give it a digit suffex.) Why? I’ve used it since Bush jr. was in “his” first term, back when I was stomping college Republicans to death on the now-defunct CampusNonsense blog. I like using handles and I have more then one, and that’s not going to change….but if signing in will keep the PistolPetes away more power to you.

    • February 9, 2010 - 11:54 pm 11:54 pm

      No, I don’t want everybody to give their “real name.” I’m all for handles. Just register.

    • sdaniels1 permalink
      February 10, 2010 - 10:41 am 10:41 am

      Trust me, strelnikov, it will not keep out ‘the’ PistolPete. We have had to just get used to the guy on the Reader, where I keep my blog, and you’ve already caught that particular virus. You can’t get rid of him, so you might as well just consider Pete the resident troll, something like a store cat.

      Anyway, I found wordpress’s registration process to be one of the least intrusive–not sure how one thinks it is going to deter any troll whatsoever–trolls keep multiple email accounts on hand, or so I’ve heard from the troll mentioned above. (Since I use my real name, the only irritation is finding out someone has already snagged it, and I have to add a number).

      A question for Dave: How is it that my name is showing up sans capital letters, even though I entered them at registration? I see yours is capped…

      • February 10, 2010 - 10:46 am 10:46 am

        I have no idea. Maybe there’s a settings page where you can change your display name to be different from your login name?

        • sdaniels1 permalink
          February 10, 2010 - 10:52 am 10:52 am

          Uh, see what I mean?

          Ok, yes, there is an account page where you can change it. On my way to obtain well-deserved caps 😉

          • February 10, 2010 - 10:55 am 10:55 am

            Upload a picture while you’re at it. 🙂

      • pistoleropete permalink
        February 10, 2010 - 10:50 am 10:50 am

        Troll? Hardly. I’m more of a keyboard warrior keeping people like you and LaFemmeNikitaKhrushchev2 in line. A troll flames various blogs just for the sake of trolling. I leave most blogs/articles/discussions alone if it has no bearing on my world. If the subject at hand interests me, like said blog, regarding a new policy, I’ll add my 2 cents. If this blog had no bearing on what I do, I’d be like a ghost instead of a stale fart.

  8. pistoleropete permalink
    February 10, 2010 - 10:39 am 10:39 am

    I FINALLY got the fuckin’ thing to work! Whew! I thought this part of the blogosphere was going to have to without my wonderful wisdom….:-D Anyhoo, Like I e-mailed Dave last night, I have 1,000 e-mail accounts at my disposal. Getting on here without your real name and/or a fake e-mail is no problemo. My question to CB is….If it ain’t fuckin’ broke, why “fix” it?

    As to strelnikov2, you’d LOVE to keep free thought that doesn’t agree with your own away, wouldn’t you? Your attitude is what gives the Democratic Elite a VERY bad name in politics. Afterall, to a Democrat, free speech is his or her Kryptonite if it doesn’t fall into line with his or her fucked up view of the world.

    *pull down pants and moons the blog* See that? Ya’ll can kiss it if you think enabling WordPress is going to keep people like me away. ;-D

    • February 10, 2010 - 10:46 am 10:46 am

      I assure you, Pete, this wasn’t intended to lock you, personally, out.

      • pistoleropete permalink
        February 10, 2010 - 10:56 am 10:56 am

        I know that. CB couldn’t lock me out if they tried*evil grin*…signonsandiego learned that lesson a few times.

        Speaking of signonsandiego, I’ve printed up the Chargers 50 years of sucking that AFC cock and personally typed up the W/L record for them Vs. the NFL. It doesn’t bode well for the Chargeless. 😦 They truly are the epitome of suck.

        Here’s just a sample of what I’ve found out about the beloved footballers of choke…
        AFC Vince Lombardi trophies:21
        Chargeless Vince Lombardi trophies:0
        Record Vs. the rest of the AFC:266-273-10
        Pretty pathetic that there are almost as many wins as there are losses and no rings or glory to show for it….

        I’ll update this with the NFC when I get the chance. 🙂

        • February 10, 2010 - 10:59 am 10:59 am

          C’mon, man. Stay on topic.

          • pistoleropete permalink
            February 10, 2010 - 11:04 am 11:04 am

            There are only so many things to be said on this topic and 90% of them have been said already.

            It’s also hard for me to pass up a good dig at this city or it’s beloved Pee-Wee sports teams. 🙂

  9. February 15, 2010 - 9:07 pm 9:07 pm

    Testing. Just checking to see if my old acct. works.
    And saying I’m with Seth on this decision.

Leave a Reply

