Skip to content

Videos from Extravaganja!

February 10, 2010 - 3:05 pm

Last night, the Comedy Store in La Jolla felt like a speakeasy. No, more than that, it felt like one of those old-timey, underground meetings of subversives, where anarchists drink toasts to perilous conspiracies, the kind of gathering that is inevitably raided by gestapo or Russian secret police.

The San Diego chapter of Americans for Safe Access forewent its monthly meeting and instead threw an “Extravaganja” comedy fundraiser to assistant in the legal efforts to protect patients’ access to medical cannabis. If District Attorney Bonnie Dumanis wanted to round up the usual suspects, she could’ve raided the venue. After all, folks were reportedly toking up a storm in the alley.  (When asked if there were any non-tokers in the audience, only two held up their hands)

Here are a few videos I shot of the performers, each of whom openly advocates for marijuana.

Mark Goffeny, the armless guitarist from the band Big Toe.

Jeffrey Peterson, the 420 comic, who was recently released from jail on a medical cannabis charge.

Jay London, second from the left on the evolutionary chart.

The big (literally) man of the night was WWE wrestler Rob Van Dam (pictured), who–to my gratification–linked misinformation about marijuana to misinformation about circumcision. The video is too long for YouTube and I can’t upload to WordPress from Vimeo, so you’ll have to watch it here.

Sorry for the  sibilance and poor picture quality; it was shot on a first-generation flip cam.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. pistoleropete permalink
    February 10, 2010 - 5:27 pm 5:27 pm

    Hmmmm….new registration system…..deleting comments….you guys are batting a 1.000…..

  2. February 10, 2010 - 5:31 pm 5:31 pm

    Sigh. I emailed you about it when I did it. But jeez, I’ll go ahead and disclose.

    Folks: I deleted a conversation between Pistol Pete and I that went like this (paraphrased):

    Pete: The YouTube videos are set to private.
    Me: Sorry, I’ll fix it.
    Me: OK, fixed. Try it again.
    Pete: OK it works.

    I figured it was just housekeeping that wouldn’t make sense to readers since I fixed the technical problem. It wasn’t actually any kind of discussion.

    • pistoleropete permalink
      February 10, 2010 - 11:12 pm 11:12 pm

      My comment was in jest Mr.Maass. 😛

      • February 10, 2010 - 11:18 pm 11:18 pm

        Oh, there’s the smiley face. I got it. Thanks for spelling my name right.

        I like the handle Pistolero Pete. I think Sdaniels figured out how to change the display name.

        • pistoleropete permalink
          February 11, 2010 - 2:07 am 2:07 am

          Not sure if she did or not. I was having trouble logging in as PistolPete and getting pissed off so I tried PistoleroPete and voila! I’m in like Flynn. ;-D

  3. February 10, 2010 - 6:32 pm 6:32 pm

    Thanks for attending Dave, your support is greatly appreciated by the entire MMJ community. We need more events like this, more importantly, we need more reporters like Dave Maass to report truth about the MMJ effort in San Diego.

    • February 10, 2010 - 7:00 pm 7:00 pm

      You’re welcome! Were you there? Would’ve liked to meet you.

Leave a Reply

