Skip to content

The Zapf email

April 13, 2010 - 11:42 am

Multiple sources have told us that City Council candidate Lorie Zapf continues to claim we quoted her out of context in our story about anti-gay sentiments she expressed to Christian activist James Hartline.

To set the record straight, here is the email exchange between Zapf and Hartline. You decide if she was quoted fairly or if her excuse is pure sleaze. We’ve bolded the lines we used.

From Hartline to Zapf:

Sent: Saturday, June 03, 2006 4:04 PM

Subject: Failure To Responsd: Christian Coaltion Voter Guide.

Hi Lorie, I know that you go to Mission Valley Christian Fellowship. I would like to know why you did not fill out the Christian Coalition Voter Guide?

Also, as a Christian I am disturbed how you can be working for a candidate, Judy Riddle, who has been very vocal in her support of Jerry Sanders, who has repeatedly marched in gay pride parades and has recently hired two homosexual activists from Toni Atkins office to help run his administration.

I have also heard from other insiders inside of the party that you have expressed liberal views and I would like you to clarify the accuracy of these statements for me.

I appreciate your response on these issues.

Sincerely,

James Hartline

Publisher, The James Hartline Report

http://www.jameshartline.com

From Zapf to Hartline:

Sent: Tuesday, June 6, 2006, 1:49 PM

Subject: RE: Failure To Responsd: Christian Coaltion Voter Guide.

James, I didn’t get the Christian guide form to fill out. I remember someone calling to ask if I got it around the deadline to submit (I was in the car somewhere), I said no, gave my fax. They never faxed it over. I am SOOOOOO busy with several organizations, my 2 young children, our family business, girl scouts, school activities and volunteering, playdates and trying to keep the family fed and the house clean that it slipped my mind and the deadline passed.  Getting elected to that position is not top on my list. If I win I’ll continue to do good things, if I lose, no big deal…just a lot more work for no pay. I’ve already been one of the most active volunteers in the political community for several years.

I must say I disagree with you on supporting our mayor. I support his attempting to try to fix our city’s finances, as does Judy Riddle. I do believe homosexuality is a sin. I have three homosexual first cousins. I love them all and would “be seen” in a photo with them. I believe they all live in sin and frankly all are very unhappy people and had horrible childhoods as well. I like that you are trying to keep homosexuals and homosexual activists out of public office because we both know what the long term agenda is. But Mayor Sanders is neither a homosexual or I believe an activist on their behalf – I am aware he attended or walked in a gay pride parade, which bothers me. I didn’t vote for him the first time around, but did when it was between him and D.F – the choice before me. Pastor Leo has a homosexual son and you lived the life for I think 15 years. For whatever reason God allowed people to choose homosexuality. So, there must be a reason for it, although I don’t get it, like so may other things that don’t make sense. It’s for Him to deal with each individual. I absolutely want to keep homosexuals out of public office and not be allowed to influence our schools, textbooks, altering marriage, children, and on and on. But I think it goes too far (for me) to say I cannot support our mayor’s fiscal policies and his attempts to turn our city around. There has to be a balance between the militant route and the P.C. tolerant route.

Judy is a STAUNCH supporter of the Cross and the Scouts, Pro-Life, pro family values…she is very conservative. We can only vote for the choices we have, and Donna Frye is an A.C.L.U. LIBERAL who is leading this city down the wrong path. What your organization could do is put up some good candidates we can all get behind. There was John…can’t remember his last name – his wife had/has cancer. He could have been a good candidate. Gotta run.

All the best,

Lorie Zapf

Please compare this against the original story, which, we believe, also provides further context.

One Comment leave one →
  1. denisfay permalink
    April 14, 2010 - 2:55 pm 2:55 pm

    Once a sell out, always a sell out. And it’s funny how she keeps this negative story going by her ridiculous denials of emails she clearly wrote.

    She voted with the moderates on central committee to keep Sanders’ illegal endorsement, and in the same breath bashed bad gay marriage. Badmouthed Denney, Bilbray, and Schwartzenegger for their liberal ways and destructive lifestyles, and constantly cited her “conservative views”.

    She felt the heat of playing both sides, and promptly quit the committee. She has told everyone who will listen her anti-view point of gays, yet when Carl came to her promoting the idea of having her run for Frye’s termed out seat, she suddenly tossed aside her beliefs and became a full on supporter of DeMaio, Sanders, and Dumanis. Even asking and promoting some questions at a centcom meeting for Dumanis, like the liberal spokesmodel that she is.

    She’s a sell out even before becoming an elected. She needs to be defeated. She’s just like they are. Dishonest.

    Is she liberal, is she conservative? Electing her is not the time to find out.

Leave a Reply

