Skip to content

Nutter sues SDPD

April 27, 2010 - 1:46 pm

CityBeat is always attracted to nutty litigants who sue the government over civil-rights violations. We’re not sure that this Chula Vista guy is nutty or not, but his name is, in fact, Adrian Nutter.

Here’s the text of his federal lawsuit against the San Diego Police Department filed on April 23:

Office L. Martin violated my civil and Constitutional rights as a United States Citizen by attempting to search me without permission, or probably cause, and by falsely arresting me during a traffic stop on May 10th, 2007 at approximately 3:50pm. During the traffic stop officer Martin demanded my social security number. When I declined to give it, officer Martin became aggressive and attempted to coerce the information from me by threatening to “book me” at the station, and tow my car. When I still declined to give my social security number, officer Martin demanded that I exit the vehicle and attempted to search me without my permission. When I resisted his search of my person in a non-violent manner, officer Martin handcuffed me and placed me in the back of his patrol car. I was never read my rights, nor informed that I was under arrest at any time during the incident. Officer Martin’s aggressive, threatening behavior, and violation of my civil right to freedom was both terrifying, and humiliating. This incident has left me emotionally scared [sic] for life.

Um…as 9th Circuit Court of Appeals Judge Alex Kozinski says: Welcome to the fish bowl,  Nutter.

Download the two-page complaint here.

One Comment leave one →
  1. pistoleropete permalink
    April 28, 2010 - 11:04 am 11:04 am

    I can’t say if this guy’s story is true or not but if in fact it is, this guy has a case. Let’s see where this one leads…

Leave a Reply

