Skip to content

San Diego emerging artist resource | Get your art noticed by San Diego media

August 16, 2010 - 4:45 pm

Vodpod videos no longer available.

This is a presentation I gave as part of the San Diego Visual Arts Network workshop at Survey Select. It is a San Diego emerging-artist resource guide on 10 things you can do today to get noticed by local media (or, at the very least, me, the arts editor at San Diego CityBeat).

This talk was intended for the many emerging artists who have often asked me about the best ways to get their art in our little alt weekly. None of this advice is guaranteed, but I can guarantee those artists who send me an e-mail will get at least a reply in return. Here are the talk’s takeaways:

  • The first few slides about Google are simply a reminder that you may want to start by getting yourself a good web presence. Getting on the first page of a “San Diego artists” Google search isn’t easy, but there are ways (like joining one of the directories that do show up on the first page) to make it happen pretty quickly.
  • Sending out press releases about yourself, your work and your shows is always a good start. If you don’t know how to write a press release, just Google it and copy the basic format. Research contacts.
  • Invite journalists to coffee. They may say yes.
  • Get involved.
  • Get your art out into the public realm.
  • Promote yourself using blogs, Twitter, Facebook, etc.
  • Contact kinseem@sdcitybeat.com
6 Comments leave one →
  1. danver334 permalink
    August 16, 2010 - 5:50 pm 5:50 pm

    Generous. Sort of arrogant. So.. is this where San Diego is left after losing Pincus? How exactly an undergraduate degree in the field of Journalism qualifies anyone to lecture artists on how to get “noticed”- or anything else- is completely unclear. Actually, this slideshow is quite presumptuous. Sorry, but while it is great to have people who love art blog about it, let’s remember that people who identify as art critics, and most arts writers, have gone to school for it and have earned advanced degrees in Art History, Visual Art or both. While I am sure that this was intended to be helpful, the slideshow, and it’s suggestions, are really just unprofessional and silly.

    • August 16, 2010 - 6:13 pm 6:13 pm

      The slideshow was intended for emerging artists. Artist who have no clue how to make contact. I was asked to talk because I’ve been covering, collecting and organizing art shows in San Diego and Tijuana for the last six years (with a year stint of showing art in Colorado in between). If you were at the talk, or read some of my posts from the past (http://lastblogonearth.com/2010/08/03/canvassed-san-diego-art-news-the-future-of-arts-journalism/ ) you would know that I don’t consider myself an arts critic. Pincus was the only one in town with the proper education to be an arts critic in my opinion. I cover the arts by writing experiential pieces that hopefully both educate people about the artists behind the work and get people excited about learning more.

      And, if you were at the talk, you would have known that the reason I included Light’s email at the end was because I was bemoaning the loss of Pincus and telling the artists that, for now anyway, he’s the best person to request art coverage from.

      Perhaps I should have provided more context for the slides. The reason I posted them was because I got several requests to email it to artists. Just because you know this stuff or think it’s ‘silly and unprofessional’ doesn’t mean the 17-year-old artist who has no clue how to get started does.

  2. danver334 permalink
    August 16, 2010 - 7:08 pm 7:08 pm

    Blogging, collecting, organizing exhibitions of work you like is great and contributes to the art community as a whole. Conversation in any form- articles included- is great too. All of this takes energy and should be applauded. However, the suggestion that you are qualified to tell that 17 year old artist how to “get started” is unsubstantiated. Started in what? It is important to realize that this lecture and slideshow- regardless of intent- positions you as someone authorized to provide guidance to that 17 year old artist- which you are simply not. Your slideshow and your reply both suggest that getting “noticed” by the media is how to “get started”. This is irresponsible. Want to be a catalyst for their success? Suggest a good B.F.A. program because an informed, critical dialogue amongst a community of both peers and established artists is where it “starts”- not on Craigslist/Google or by selling work to your family and friends. etc.

    • August 16, 2010 - 7:33 pm 7:33 pm

      Get started in getting noticed by local media. What I will do is add context to this post, because I do think it needs it. As a local media person who covers the arts, however, I’m pretty darn sure I am allowed to give a talk on how an artist might go about getting noticed by me and my art-covering colleagues. The last few slides are pretty straight-forward ways of getting in touch with me. Pretty sure I am qualified to do that. I spent the last year and a half learning about web marketing and social media. I don’t call myself an expert, but I thought I would remind artists that they may want to establish a web presence.

      Again, I was asked to do this and then asked by artists to share it. I will email the organizers of the event and the emerging artists and tell them that some troll who hasn’t presented any credentials of his/her own thinks we should all stop trying to help one another and knock off all that community-building crap. Thanks for your helpful contributions.

      • August 16, 2010 - 7:54 pm 7:54 pm

        P.S.- I’ll tell all the artists I know who have built their careers in some of these ways that they need to go back to art school and get a degree. You sure are smart and filled with helpful advice. I’ll tell my street-art friends that they need to find money and get themselves a degree, too. It’s the only way to be a successful artist, right?

  3. August 17, 2010 - 11:17 am 11:17 am

    Arguing about expertise is so 20th century (sorry, I can’t help myself.) It’s sort of like discussing whether painting is dead…. Nope, painting is not dead. The camera (internet/graffiti/etc.) didn’t destroy the precious medium, but rather the scope of art was broadened and will continue to broaden ad infinitum. Similarly, the idea of who is a critic and what qualifies one to critique art has grown. However, this is a moot point—Ms. Morlan never implies she is a critic. She is, however, uniquely qualified to give local media advice to the proverbial 17-year-old artist.

    Since moving to San Diego in 2003, I’ve been aware of Ms. Morlan’s outstanding work as a journalist as well as a her tireless efforts as a cultural animator in the region. THIS PERSON KNOWS THE ART SCENE.

    Also, it’s worth noting that the title of the slideshow and lecture is “How to Get Your Art Noticed By San Diego Media,”–there is no mention of forming or guiding minds (young or otherwise) to become artists.

    The only arrogance here is the notion that there is one correct way to become an artist, you know, to avoid being “unprofessional and silly.”

Leave a Reply

