Skip to content

Tin Can Ale House booking e-mail hacked

September 13, 2010 - 12:42 pm

If you’re in a band that’s booked a show or plans to book one with Tin Can Ale House, take note: Tin Can co-owner Kelsey Breunig is not stranded in London and she doesn’t need your money.

The bar’s main booking e-mail address has been hacked. “If you haven’t already seen, you will be receiving an email asking for money because I am stuck in London, or whatever crap they send you,” she wrote in a mass e-mail earlier today. “Please disregard any emails you receive from here on out. They are not from me.”

You can reach Breunig at the bar’s new e-mail address, tincanbooking AT gmail DOT com.

Update:

I received this e-mail from the hacked hotmail address early this morning (9/14):

Hi,
How are you doing today?.I am really sorry to bother you with this email but i just want you to know what i am facing right now.I am sorry that i didn’t inform you about my traveling to London UK for a Seminar,i am presently in London now but unfortunately for me i lost my wallet which contains my money and other valuable things in a taxi.I can easily access the internet for now but i do not have access to phone.I want you to assist me urgently with a loan of $2,500 to sort-out my hotel bills and to get myself back home. I have spoken to the embassy here but they are not responding to the matter effectively,i promise i will pay you back as soon as i return.Kindly let me know if you can be of help so that i can send you the details you will use to send the money to me here in London.

One Comment leave one →
  1. djmdavidmac permalink
    September 14, 2010 - 11:37 pm 11:37 pm

    I got the same email supposedly from my friend who lives in Las Vegas last week. I knew better and all it took was a quick text asking how the weather was in London when he called to let me know it was a hoax.

    I’d like to think that most people are now on to these schemes, the bigger question is how are the criminals able to access these people’s email accounts?

Leave a Reply

